Salesian Spirituality

Father Judge High School is grounded in Salesian Spirituality - lived, taught, and passed on by St. Francis de Sales, our patron.

A key word to characterize Salesian spirituality is "practical." It developed out of De Sales' experience as the bishop of a small diocese and as an advisor to a wide variety of people who were interested in living out their faith in their daily lives. Much of his advice was given through letters of spiritual direction written in his spare time. These letters were later compiled into his classic work, Introduction to the Devout Life, first published in 1609. De Sales' words have stood the test of time. They continue to guide anyone seeking to live out their baptismal commitment. The concepts listed below provide what we call the Salesian Seven (7), which summarizes to our community the basic idea of Salesian Spirituality:
  1. Respect Yourself and Others
    • Take pride in yourself and care for others
  2. Recognize Your Unique Gifts and Talents
    • Be aware of the gifts that God has given you
  3. Be Patient with Everyone, Especially Yourself
    • Do not be so hard on others, including yourself 
  4. Be Gentle
    • Be a person of peace and calm
  5. Be Grateful
    • For all that life has to offer, be thankful for your gifts
  6. Be Positive
    • Be someone who is hopeful and optimistic
  7. Be Confident
    • Be a person with faith in self
For more information on Saint Francis de Sales and Salesian Spirituality, you can check out the following links to Religious Orders and Congregations that seek to live out and spread Salesian Spirituality:
For more information on Salesian Spirituality and serving your neighbor, please see the following: